menu
links
2004-01-29 @ 12:09 a.m.
tundra

I have not had a nice long walk in a long time. The collar of my overcoat turned against the cold. Eyes starting at the street. The only sound is the snow crunching under my boots and the wind whipping past my ears. It was so cold it could freeze you. Negative nine and with wind chill. It really didn't seem to bother me. I do not know exactly where I was going. . .but I knew it had to be better than this place. It HAD to be better than this place.

But. . .

All the places I went, I still could not feel warm. I was still frozen from the cold and ruthlessness of the winter storm. I could not feel my fingers or toes, and it was painful in places where the wind cut through me. I found the places where I used to be warm to be just as frigid as the last. So, I trekked on.

I still walk on because the world is a tundra in my mind, and I am too tired to make a fire.




Scratch the wall || 0 scratches on the wall.

fade away - materialize