menu
links
2009-10-18 @ 6:06 p.m.
-

Since the smoking ban, we usually can find a table in our usual haunt late at night. All of those people that used to show up after bar close would crowd into this little place, and all you can hear is the loud murmurs of half drunks and 3rd shifter fill the place. It gave the establishment a cone of silence, even though there was none, where you could still hear yourself over the din, but no one could hear you over their own. Now, the place is a shadow of its former self. The only inhabitants that still frequent the place are a few regulars, a few new faces, and the bored wait staff with nothing to do. I look over at my companion in this affair and I can see the disappointment on his face.

His mouth stretching tight over his face in a slight frown, he mumbles, �Let just find the paper and eat.�

�Yeah,� was my weak reply as he wanders off to a table stacked with ripped apart papers from the day before, searching for the certain sections he prefers.

Wandering by the few stoic customers, I slid myself into a booth and waited as Steve followed far behind staring down at the crumpled section. He groans and throws the paper down on the table and plopped onto the opposite side of the booth.

�The crossword is already half done.�

�Oh well, chalk it up to a bad day,� shrugging at his disappointment.

�We�re having too many bad days, lately,� he replied quickly as he starts to pour over the mess of a left-behind crossword puzzle.

I shrug again to this. The statement was true, but there was no use in arguing the fact with him.

Taking off my glass, I rub at my eyes harshly before a noise peaks my attention. A couple of new people seemed to have sat down near us without either of us noticing. I replace my glasses thinking, �Oh well, so much for picking a spot away from people,� and start to read the opposite side of the paper Steve�s holding as he grunts at a tricky clue from the crossword.

�I just cannot fathom how you can state that!�
The newcomers apparently were continuing a conversation that was started some time ago. Steve and I both looked up from our sides of the held paper. Before closing my eyes and giving a small head shake, I noticed his eye twitching.

�Let�s just hope they�re not that type.� He muttered.

As if the half-done crossword was a since, I already knew that they were that type. It�s fairly rare when we do have that type sit near us, but it really did seem that we were having a bad day. Rubbing my eyes again, I tried to think over the over dramatic conversation that was happening next to us; hearing words like �inconceivable�, �archaic�, �blas�, and others. I knew whenever they had made a ridiculous point because Steve would grunt and snap his paper. Looking up, I could see how disgruntled he actually was. We had dealt with these types before. The ones that use words that most don�t understand in situations where it isn�t called for. I smiled lightly. It wasn�t that we didn�t know what they were talking about or what the words meant. It was the way in which they were used. Sometimes, they didn�t even know what the words they were using meant, or they used them incorrectly, but it doesn�t matter to them. Using those words made them feel important or to use them to look down on others. This is what we hated about those types. I came out of my internal monologue in time to see Steve staring at them with his mouth slightly open. I hadn�t heard what was said, but he only makes that sort of face when he hears blasphemy. My laugh brings him out of his death stare.

�Let�s just go. I can�t deal with this today.� He says as he throws down his paper to the table.

�But, we haven�t even gotten something to drink.� I reply lazily.

Glancing over at a couple waitresses on the far side of the restaurant, I realized that we probably wouldn�t get them for some time either way.

�Fine, fine, let�s go.�

As soon as I said the first fine, he was up and walking away. Laughing again, I followed; noting the confused look of some of the waitresses that were lounging at a table. As passed the doorway to make a fast getaway from the arrogance, I smiled.

We are having too many bad days, lately.



Scratch the wall || 0 scratches on the wall.

fade away - materialize